On Monday Epilepsy Research UK announced the recipients of its 2017 grants at a reception at The Royal Society in London. (www.royalsociety.org)The event was attended by Epilepsy Research UK supporters and researchers and is an annual event which runs in National Epilepsy Week. As well as celebrating the new grants, the organisation was also recognising the contribution of the Fund for Epilepsy which was founded 25 years ago and was one of the organisations that merged to form Epilepsy Research UK. Many Fund for Epilepsy stalwarts were at the event and we were delighted to welcome them to this special celebration.

From left to right starting at the top: Professor Helen Cross, President of Epilepsy Research UK, Dr Graeme Sills, Chair of Epilepsy Research UK and award recipients Dr Mark Wall, Dr Rebecca Bromley, Dr Stephani Schorge, Dr Gabriele Lignani, Dr Ivan Pavlov, Professor Matthew Walker and Dr Gareth Morris.